Our top 15 for families

The best Japanese ski resorts for families

Japan has many ski resorts that are good for families, and these are our pick of the best. We looked at 41 resorts, checked the likeliest 20 on their own websites, and ranked them on what a family needs most.

Childcare and English lessons make up half the score. The rest is the amount of intermediate and advanced terrain, so parents have something to ski while children are in lessons, then the price of a child's day, how old children are when they stop paying, how far the resort is from an airport or Shinkansen station, kids' lessons and a learning area. Where a resort's own site does not say, we show it as not stated.

No. 19.1family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Nozawa Onsen

An onsen village with 13 free public bathhouses, at the foot of 1,085m of vertical. Childcare takes children from 1 to 6 years, five licensed schools teach in English, and preschoolers ski free.

Childcare
Yes
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 5
Day pass
Child ¥4,700, adult ¥7,800
Getting there
20 min from Iiyama Shinkansen
Read the Nozawa Onsen guide
No. 28.7family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Hakuba Valley

Ten resorts on one lift pass along the valley, from Happo-One to Cortina. Tsugaike Kogen has an English school, childcare and kids' passes, and Hakuba Goryu has childcare too.

Childcare
Yes
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 5
Day pass
Child ¥7,000, adult ¥9,800
Getting there
75 min from Nagano Shinkansen
Family figures from
Tsugaike Kogen and Hakuba Goryu
Read the Hakuba Valley guide
No. 38.4family score out of 10
Hokkaido

Rusutsu

Two mountains either side of a highway, with some of Japan's best lift-served tree runs. A nursery takes children from one year to preschool, and all of its international lessons are taught in English.

Childcare
Yes
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 3
Day pass
Child ¥8,300, adult ¥16,700
Getting there
90 min from New Chitose Airport
Read the Rusutsu guide
No. 48.3family score out of 10
Hokkaido

Niseko United

Four linked ski areas on one Hokkaido mountain, on a single all-mountain pass. Hanazono's Kids Club takes children from 12 months to 6 years, and the Niseko Village Kids Club has multilingual coaches.

Childcare
Yes
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 3
Day pass
Child ¥8,100, adult ¥13,500
Getting there
150 min from New Chitose Airport
Read the Niseko United guide
No. 56.9family score out of 10
Hokkaido

Sapporo Teine

A ski area inside Sapporo city limits, a train and local bus from Sapporo Station. Lessons are given in native English or through an interpreter, with junior classes and private lessons for children from 4.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 3
Day pass
Child ¥6,500, adult ¥9,800
Getting there
35 min from Sapporo Station (page gives no airport time)
Read the Sapporo Teine guide
No. 66.7family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Myoko Kogen

Five ski areas around Akakura below Mount Myoko: Akakura Onsen, Akakura Kanko, Ikenotaira, Seki Onsen and Suginohara. At Suginohara children up to primary school age ride the lifts free, and English lessons are taught at Myoko Snow Sports.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to primary school age
Day pass
Child free
Family figures from
Suginohara
Read the Myoko Kogen guide
No. 76.6family score out of 10
Hokkaido

Furano Ski Area

Two linked zones in central Hokkaido, quieter and more local than Niseko, with its own JR station. Children up to primary school age ride free, first-time primary schoolers get a free kids' lesson, and lessons are given in English.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to primary school age
Day pass
Child free, adult ¥8,000 (2025-26)
Getting there
60 min from Asahikawa Airport (car)
Read the Furano Ski Area guide
No. 86.4family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Naeba

Naeba Prince Hotel's ski area in Niigata, linked by the Dragondola to Kagura. Children 12 and under ride free, and Pandaruman teaches first-timers indoors before moving them outside.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to primary school age
Day pass
Child free, adult ¥7,800 (2025-26)
Getting there
45 min from Echigo-Yuzawa Shinkansen
Read the Naeba guide
No. 95.8family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Shiga Kogen

Eighteen linked ski areas on a high plateau in Nagano, home to the 1998 Olympic courses, all on one pass. Primary school children ride free at Yakebitai, and the central area pass has a child day ticket at half the adult price.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Not stated on its site
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to primary school age
Day pass
Child ¥3,750, adult ¥7,500
Getting there
60 min from Nagano Shinkansen
Family figures from
the central area pass and Yakebitai
Read the Shiga Kogen guide
No. 105.8family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Yuzawa Kogen

A ten-minute walk from Echigo-Yuzawa Station, up a 166-passenger ropeway cabin, to eight gentle courses. Lessons are taught in English and Chinese by POD Snowsports, with 60-minute kids' lessons for ages 4 to 6.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Yes
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 3
Day pass
Child ¥3,500, adult ¥6,900 (2025-26)
Getting there
10 min from Echigo-Yuzawa Shinkansen (walk)
Read the Yuzawa Kogen guide
No. 115.4family score out of 10
Hokkaido

Tomamu

A resort base built around a heated wave pool and a winter Ice Village, with good tree skiing behind it. Childcare takes children from 5 months at the Tower II, and children aged 6 and under ski free.

Childcare
Yes
English lessons
Not stated on its site
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 6
Day pass
Child ¥7,500, adult ¥9,500
Getting there
120 min from New Chitose Airport (train, one change)
Read the Tomamu guide
No. 125.2family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Karuizawa

Right at the Shinkansen station, about 64 to 80 minutes from Tokyo, with a small beginner-friendly resort. Children up to primary school age ride free at any time, and Pandaruman teaches first-timers.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Private lessons only
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to primary school age
Day pass
Child free
Read the Karuizawa guide
No. 134.9family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Joetsu Kokusai

Japan's biggest single ski area at 380 hectares, with its own JR station near Echigo-Yuzawa. It has Kids Paradise and a SpongeBob snow camp, and private lessons can be given in English for 1,000 yen extra.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Private lessons only
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 2
Day pass
Child ¥3,500, adult ¥5,500
Getting there
12 min from Echigo-Yuzawa Shinkansen (local train)
Read the Joetsu Kokusai guide
No. 144.4family score out of 10
Northern Honshu

Geto Kogen

One of the snowiest resorts on earth, in Iwate, with beds by the gondola. A snow-play school looks after children from 3 to preschool age, and preschoolers ski free with a guardian.

Childcare
Partly: a staffed snow-play school
English lessons
Not stated on its site
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 5
Day pass
Not stated on its site
Getting there
60 min from Kitakami Shinkansen
Read the Geto Kogen guide
No. 153.8family score out of 10
Central Honshu

Sugadaira Kogen

Gentle cruising on a high plateau near Ueda Station, long known as a summer training-camp ground. Children aged 3 and under ski free, primary school children ski free on the third Sunday of each month, and it runs a kids' programme.

Childcare
Not stated on its site
English lessons
Not stated on its site
Kids' lessons
Yes
Kids ski free
Up to 3
Day pass
Not stated on its site
Getting there
53 min from Ueda Shinkansen
Read the Sugadaira Kogen guide

How the list is ranked

Each resort is scored out of 10. Childcare and English lessons are worth 2.5 points each, and half that if childcare takes only older children or English is in private lessons only. Terrain for parents to ski while their children are in lessons is worth 2. Cheap kids' passes and a short trip from an airport or Shinkansen station are worth 1 each, and kids' lessons and a learning area half a point each.

The figures come from each resort's own website, read in October 2026. Where a group of linked ski areas makes the list, it is one entry and takes the best of its member areas for each measure. Day pass prices are for 2026-27 unless marked. The score for a resort that does not state something is lower than it may deserve, and we will update the list as resorts publish more.